How it all began

I never thought before that one day I’d be involved so much in photography..

I once thought of becoming an artist but with pencils and brushes. I spent a lot of time drawing during my childhood and teenage days but it never crossed my mind that I would want to put to representation the ideas that my imagination had created using a camera.

It only came to me when I transferred here in Japan. I was looking for a new hobby to keep me away from boredom. Some of my friends were already into it and looking at the pictures they took made me consider but still I didn’t put it  at the top of my list even when they tried to convince me.

The “push” came when I met somebody I had developed some special attention to and was into photography.  She was good at it. Spending time with her as she took pictures and looking at the shots she took influenced me a lot and made me consider even more to get into photography.

One day she planned on going a day trip to a placed called Hakone – a famous tourist spot in Japan known for its beautiful scenery and hot springs. I wouldn’t want to spend most of the day just looking at her take pictures. I want to take pictures too so I decided to buy a camera. I couldn’t afford a DSLR camera a that time so I went for an advanced compact camera. A canon S5is.

A picture of a lone green leaf lying over dried brown leaves is one of the test pictures I took with that S5is

Fallen

leaves

So we went on to that Hakone trip together with a couple of friends and enjoyed the whole day taking photos.

Here are two pictures I took on that Hakone day trip.

Gora Park

Lake Ashi

Here is a photo she took using my camera

 

Upon reviewing the shots I had on that day I noticed a disparity between the quality of the pictures that she took and with the ones from mine. I realized that I still have a long way to go so. Wanting to show that I too can excel at the thing she is good at I was motivated to improve. Fueled from that I decided to take photography a little more seriously.

Almost three years have passed since I decided to get my self involved in photography. The thing with that girl never worked out though but the photography seems to be heading in the right direction.

It had become one of the things I can never imagine letting go of and one of the things that I believe could lead me to greater aspects of life.

3 thoughts on “How it all began

Leave a Reply

